At exactly 10:10pm, one year ago, one of my very close friends passed away.

Death is one of those things I’ll never be able to understand. I’ll never understand how it happens, or what happens. The aftermath. I’ll never understand why we’re so dependent on the thought that someone will always be with us and take for granted our relationship with them. Why people wait for a turn of events to come together for a purpose other than to satisfy their own selfish needs.

 

As I stood there staring at the only candle that stayed lit, I realized that the location was perfect. The sky above us was spoiled with stars, such an area so free from pollution that every star was in plain sight. 

 

He beleived in love. He believed in pursuing love, your skeptical hopeless romantic. He dreamt of escaping and continually discovered empty places that would bring him peace of mind. It was his place, you could tell. 

 

And its true what they say, that “when someone you love dies, you don’t lose them all at once. You lose them in pieces over time, like how the mail stops coming.”

 

I miss him, but mostly..I’m still expecting his call every few weeks to play tennis.

