I’m such a keepsake person.
Its to the point that I intentionally avoid cleaning my room because I know I’ll have to
force myself to throw stuff away since its just become clutter, bones in the closet
perhaps. At times, its easy to toss things that are now irrelevant, but other times I
feel so sentimental to them.
Its stuff like how I’ve kept all the flowers I’ve ever recieved, pressed inside my
textbooks. Sure, I use them for scrapbooking but do I need that many? There’s litterally
petals on every section, tons of them. I also have concert tickets and scattered movie
tickets over the years in tin boxes and desk drawers.
I just recently got myself to delete all of the papers I’ve written in High School, which
I’ve kept through all four years too.
And this morning, I deleted everyone’s text. Thousands and thousands of texts from
moments that don’t even justify how the situation is today. Events that have passed,
memories that are forgotten.
I was overwhelemed with satisfaction after deleting all of them; off my phone, off my
mind. It took over an hour for my phone to purge them, but that made me realize something.
Since I had so many text messages in my phone, every time I recieved a text message it
would be really slow, to the point that it froze every time. That’s exactly what happens when we keep every thing from our past; its a slower process to accepting people in our present and for our future. Our memory is so cluttered with what we had that we don’t have space for what we can have. We concentrate so effortlessly on what has happened that it weakens our ability to be inclusive about what can happen, since we don’t feel much of an urgency for it given our already founded comfort zones.
It takes hours to clear our phone memory, and a few more hours to clear our environmental congestion.
No more bones in the closet for me. Only satisfaction over my sense of ownership. Ownership over my life, in all aspects.
At last.

I’m such a keepsake person.

Its to the point that I intentionally avoid cleaning my room because I know I’ll have to force myself to throw stuff away since its just become clutter, bones in the closet perhaps. At times, its easy to toss things that are now irrelevant, but other times I feel so sentimental to them.

Its stuff like how I’ve kept all the flowers I’ve ever recieved, pressed inside my textbooks. Sure, I use them for scrapbooking but do I need that many? There’s litterally petals on every section, tons of them. I also have concert tickets and scattered movie tickets over the years in tin boxes and desk drawers.I just recently got myself to delete all of the papers I’ve written in High School, which I’ve kept through all four years too.

And this morning, I deleted everyone’s text. Thousands and thousands of texts from moments that don’t even justify how the situation is today. Events that have passed, memories that are forgotten. I was overwhelemed with satisfaction after deleting all of them; off my phone, off my mind. It took over an hour for my phone to purge them, but that made me realize something.

Since I had so many text messages in my phone, every time I recieved a text message it would be really slow, to the point that it froze every time. That’s exactly what happens when we keep every thing from our past; its a slower process to accepting people in our present and for our future. Our memory is so cluttered with what we had that we don’t have space for what we can have. We concentrate so effortlessly on what has happened that it weakens our ability to be inclusive about what can happen, since we don’t feel much of an urgency for it given that we already feel comforted knowing what we’ve had.

It takes hours to clear our phone memory, and a few more hours to clear our environmental congestion.

No more bones in the closet for me. Only satisfaction over my sense of ownership. Ownership over my life, in all aspects.

